Jakarta is the capital and the biggest city in Indonesia. It is situated on the northeast coast of Java Island.  Jakarta has 661 km2 wide with the most populous city in Indonesia and in Southeast Asia. Most peoples in Jakarta use Bahasa as their official language, but they can speak English well. Jakarta has a hot and humid tropical wet and dry season. Wet seasons in Jakarta are running from November to June and dry season are running from July to October. The temperatures are 36ºC during the day and 27ºC during the evening. The Indonesian currency is the Indonesian Rupiah (IDR), which is 1 USD equal to IDR 14.000. Jakarta is served by two airports, Soekarno-Hatta international airport (CGK) in Cengkareng and Halim Perdana Kusuma Airport (HLP) in Halim.  The main transports within the city are motorbikes, Transjakarta buses and taxis. Jakarta also has several interesting places to visit; MONAS, Pulau Seribu, Taman Mini Indonesia Indah and Kota Tua.

1. MONAS (The National Monument)

Monumen Nasional (MONAS) or The National Monument is a 132 m tower in the centre of Merdeka Square, Central Jakarta. MONAS is symbolizing the fight for Indonesia. It was constructed in 1961 to commemorate the struggle for Indonesian independence and opened to the public in 1975. It is topped by a flame covered with gold foil.

2. Kepulauan Seribu (The Thousand Islands)

Kepulauan Seribu or The Thousand Islands has been a favorite destination for ages. It is a chain of islands to the north of Jakarta’s coast which consists of a string of 342 islands stretching 45 km north into the Java Sea at West Jakarta Bay and north of Banten Province. There are 36 islands used for recreation, in which two of them are the historical parks. While the rest of the islands are either uninhabited.

3. Taman Mini Indonesia Indah (Beautiful Indonesia Miniature Park)

Taman Mini Indonesia Indah (TMII) is a famous tourist park in East Jakarta. This tourist park reflected the miniature of Indonesia, which has 34 provinces and more than 200 ethnics. Here the guess will find 34 traditional houses which represent 34 provinces in Indonesia. In the center of this park, there is a lake with a miniature of Indonesian Archipelago. By visiting TMII, the visitor will get great experiences as if travelling around all Indonesian regions in one day.

4. Kota Tua (The Old Town)

Kota Tua or the Old Town is a neighbourhood comprising the original downtown area of Jakarta, Indonesia. It is also known as Oud Batavia in Dutch. The site contains Dutch-style structures mostly from the 17th century when the port city served as the Asian headquarter of Vereenigde Oostindische Compagnie (VOC) during the heyday of the spice trade. The visitor also can find the Chinese downtown area of Glodok here.